1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Starting to feel a little Carpal Tunnel - Wrist band help needed

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Apr 4, 2016.

1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I occasionally sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    I've been staring to feel the beginning of some mild CTS. Nothing too bad so far and I have started with exercises and position/playing pressure changes.

I have read some helpful posts on TB and have a question for people who have experience:

What type of wrist band has been effective for you? (Please include a picture or example, if you can.)

Thanks!

Fergie Fulton likes this.
  2. The $20 brace from Walmart will do. Will do what? Keep your wrist straight. A bent wrist puts pressure on the tendons and CT develops. So wear the brace at night while sleeping, this will give your wrist 6 to 8 hours of rest. I like to put it on an hour or so before a gig. Even a little rest does help.

You may have pain starting at a specific time of the day. If so put the brace on a couple of hours before the time you normally start feeling the pain - give your wrist some rest, before it starts hurting.

The metal spoon in the brace holds your wrist straight, thus letting it rest. Sleeping with it on and a couple of hours prior to a gig seems to really help me.

Good luck.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2016
  3. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota
    What fingers are being affected...this is important info to post?

4. MrLenny1

MrLenny1

Jan 17, 2009
    N.H.
    cold gel packs. the wearable type.
    before, during & after gigs.
    I ask the bar staff to put it in the fridge during sets.