Starting to learn the spider (4 finger) technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by TheInsane, Feb 1, 2003.

1. When I started playing the bass I learned the two finger walk technique. It worked well for the songs I started out with. However I became a member in a "practice band" and we played Fear Of The Dark (Iron Maiden) and I couldn't play it with my fingers at the time (my hand got tired and started to hurt). This was in 1998 or so. I started to use a pick and was very comfortable with it. But now I have decided to pick up the finger method again. And while I'm at it I think of learning how to play the four finger techueniqe. I have read one article on the subject ( and have started to use his exercises. Now I'm just wondering if anyone here have any advices, other links to articles etc please post it. I think it is great to know how to play both with a pick and with your fingers.
  2. Mathias_TfG

Apr 28, 2002
    New York
    I usually play with all four fingers. I personally don't think it is that much faster than two, just a lot more comfortable. I would recommend learning it, just because it is easier, and your hand probably won't get tired as fast. The article says to pick 1-2-3-4. I prefer to pick 1-3-2-4, because I was able to play more cleanly that way, but do whatever feels comfortable to you. The finger excercises should be helpful.
  3. Amethska

Jan 27, 2003
    NJ, USA
    3 fingers works best for me... if I use 2, my hand cramps up too quickly, and I can't use 4 because my pinky is short and stupid and not coordinated with anything...

I don't know what order I use... I think it's something like 1-2-1-2-3... hehe. Yeah.
  4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002