Starting with Teaching...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by rob_d, Apr 17, 2002.

1. rob_d

Jun 14, 2001
    Here's my situation. I've been playing bass for nearly 14 years now. I've studied music in college and consider myself a well above average bass player. I've never taught bass lessons however, as I've never been interested in it. Recently though I've been thinking it's something I might want to get into and have thrown around the prospect of taking on a few students.

My trouble is, despite my playing skills, I really don't know where to start. I feel it will be difficult for me to teach beginners. I don't really have a method or plan for teaching. I don't want to give somebody a half-assed lesson...if I don't feel I can do it right I don't want to do it. I have alot of knowledge to give, but just not sure how to give it. I had some bad teachers when I started so I know how it feels to try and learn from somebody who just can't teach. I won't be one of those teachers who just sits there and shreds in front of the student for 30 minutes..I've had those. I've also had great teachers, so I know the difference. My great teachers all came when I was fairly advanced though. I feel I could teach an intermediate student pretty's the complete beginners I'm concerned about.

Anyways, I guess I'm just looking for advice on getting started by some seasoned teachers out there. Hell, I don't even know the going rate and what I should be charging. Anyways, any advice would be appreciated.
  2. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    Try asking Steve Lawson on his forum or PM
  3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY

I teach about 25 students a week. For the Music majors and DB students, I have a whole different agenda, but for private BG instruction....