1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Steel to Guts

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by AlBass, Mar 19, 2021.

1. AlBass

AlBass

Aug 19, 2018
    UK
    Hi
    Total newbie to Rockabilly playing, and in fact to double bass period.
    When changing a steel set for weedwhackers, does anything else have to be changed, given the new lower string tension?
    Many thanks for any input

2. Inky13

Inky13

Nov 13, 2016
    Buffalo NY
    Those strings are much thicker than steels, so you might have to widen the keyholes on the tailpiece and slots on the nut. If you plan to slap, you might need a higher action, but a lot depends on your current setup.

Hoyt and AlBass like this.
  3. AlBass

AlBass

Aug 19, 2018
    UK
    Many thanks @Inky13
    I think the action is ok as it is now, but wondering if it may reduce when the strings are changed, due to the lower tensions? Im used to electric bass where that happenes, but maybe the effect is not the same with double bass?

Last edited: Mar 19, 2021
    Inky13 likes this.
  4. Just change them and find out. I had red SBWs and never thought anything of it.

AlBass likes this.
  5. AlBass

AlBass

Aug 19, 2018
    UK
    Thanks for replies guys. I learned quite a lot today. For one thing, I realised I'm using the wrong name, they aren't gut strings at all, but couldn't change the name of the thread.
    I also learned I hate weedwhackers!
    Ordered a set of Silver Slaps instead

Inky13, unbrokenchain and HateyMcAmp like this.
  6. unbrokenchain

unbrokenchain Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2011
    Black Mountain, NC
    A world away my friend!

AlBass and Inky13 like this.
  7. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California