1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sterling basses (not EBMM)?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by parksung, Mar 28, 2009.

1. parksung

parksung

Sep 2, 2007
    I rented an EBMM Sterling and really liked it, but being a beginner I don't think spending over $1000 on a bass is legit right now, so I'm looking at cheaper options such as the Sterlings.

The SB14 is basswood. Is basswood cheap and I should stay away? I'm renting a Squier Classic Vibe P-bass and it feels all around cheap but at least lighter than the EBMM (it's a maple neck/fretboard & basswood body).

I can't tell the difference between the Ray 34 & Ray 35 besides the pickguard (both are offered in either 4 or 5 strings, I'd get the 4). Am I missing something?

Would a S.U.B. Sterling be a better option?

2. The Ray 34 is the 4 string, the Ray 35 is the 5 string. Nothing wrong with basswood, it's actually a very nice tonewood. The only disadvantage to it is that it can be a little bit softer than something like alder. Which makes it easier to scratch and dent.

3. agplate

agplate

Jan 12, 2005
    Arizona
    The new Sterling line is EBMM's 'entry level' line built in Korea, generally to the company's specs and under their supervision. It's not meant to be a 'new OLP'. There's alot of buzz about the line and some trash talk about the name- hopefully this thread will remain on topic though!

1. Basswood is a fine material and is what is used on EBMM's high quality Bongo bass.

2. The Ray34 is a four string; the Ray35 is a five string bass. The electronics are 'designed' by EBMM, but not the same as the USA models. I have heard that they spent alot of time refining the preamps to give an authentic Stingray tone- and the few who have played the new bass say it's nearly indistinguishable from the real thing. I haven't seen one yet myself.