Steve Harris/Geddy Lee Fender Confusion..

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Quadzilla, Feb 15, 2002.

1. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Hey all,

I thought that I read that the Steve Harris model being discussed in another thread Link was a made in Japan model. Now I also seem to remember hearing that Fender closed down it's Japan factory. So these two conflict. That brings me to one more question, if the Japan factory is closed then where are the Steve Harris and Geddy Lee basses being manufactured, here (in the U.S.) or Mexico? I apologize for being sooo damn confused on this (I'm a noob here)...

2. Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    I thought the Sting and Marcus Miller sigs were also made in Japan.
  3. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    I heard when I was an employee of Sam Ash that the Fender Japanese plants are only going to be making a few models. It seems that they are only making some signature models there. Alot more instruments are coming out of Mexico. i.e. Blink 182 signatures, reissued & alot of others.
  4. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

So does that mean that the Steve Harris, Sting, Marcus Miller and Geddy Lee Fender's are all still being manufactured in Japan? If these Basses play so well and come with good or better pickups, bridges, etc it kinda make you wonder why you would even bother to go with an American made one (other than resale value). I have heard that all of these play at least as good as their american made counterparts...
  5. Tonto_Goldstein

Aug 26, 2001
    I love my GL Jazz. I love it so much that I haven't picked up my MIM P bass since I got the GL. I am thinking about selling the P bass but I guess its a good thing to have a backup.