Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stewart Electronics - Pro Reference vs World series

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by knuckle_head, Aug 12, 2004.

1. knuckle_head

knuckle_head Commercial User

Jul 30, 2002
    Seattle
    Owner; Knuckle Guitar Works & Circle K Strings
    I am a Crest owner - the LT1500 to be specific - and love the beast but for two particular things; weight and the always-on fan.

A friend recently acquired a Stewart Pro Reference 1000 and loves it. He indicates that its fast and warm (for solid state) and for the studio its perfect as the convection cooling means he can set his rig in the sound room. I am wondering if there is a benefit to a pair of PR 1000s over a World 2.1.

I have no direct experience with either of the Stewart lines but I'm hoping someone has dabbled with both and can do a compare/contrast

2. thewanderer24

thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    I can tell you that the world 2.1 will have the fan on at all times. On a gig, it is not even remotely noticeable. In a studio it definitely would be.

I believe the world 1.2 does not have a fan.

The world 2.1 sounds very quick, responsive, and transparent (to my ears), and will hardly even get noticeably warm even if driven for a long time.

I have no experience with the PR1000's, but have been gigged 50+ times with my world 2.1 over the last year.

3. The 1.2 does not have a fan and is IMO the better choice over the Pro (I had both). Nevertheless, if you rack either of them, the pro or the 1.2, you have to leave at least 1/2 space between power amp and preamp to avoid over heating and temporary shut down.

The Stewart is an excellent amp, light weight and it sounds very good. :)

4. the pro reference 1000 and the world 1.2 are virtually identical, except for the chrome front fascia on the pro reference.

robb.