Sticky Fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Chaindog, Jul 9, 2002.

1. I've been playing professionaly for 25+ years now, and I've noticed as I get older (save the old fart comments) something has changed in my body chemistry. When I play a "warm" venue and sweat, my sweat isn't slippery anymore, but rather sticky. It's to the point were it actually forces me to change fingerings because I'm damn near stuck to the strings.

At this point I just dry off my hands with a towel between songs, but I'm drenched within 30 seconds of the next tune (we spec 120 pars that, depending on the venue, may not be that far away).

Anyway, I'm seeking some advice from other pros out there who my have experianced something similiar on how to handle this. "Fast Fret" doesn't really seem to do anything but kill my strings.

Once again, any advice would be appreciated.
  2. Listen

May 19, 2002
    You could wear gloves...:D
  3. Hey! Not a bad Idea! Maybe some latex exam gloves...

Better yet; Boxing gloves!:D
  4. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    I'll bet a hundred bucks that something that you put into your body has changed. Your diet, what you drink, prescription meds - something.
  5. Hi Chaindog

Don't know if this will help - but if you've got sticky fingers you can try wiping them on the side of your nose (where it's oily)!

Seems to help me anyway? Good luck.

6. Yes, that does work. I did that outside when the weather was cold and all my hands did was stick or the breeze made my hands dry. It works very well.
  7. old_skool

Aug 17, 2000
    Milwaukee, WI
    Yup, read the same thing in a BassPlayer interview or something like that. Works like a charm. Give it a try.
  8. the great one

the great one

Jan 25, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    Have you tried vaseline?:D :eek: ;)