1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sticky Fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Maj. Lee FUBAR, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Maj. Lee FUBAR

Maj. Lee FUBAR Supporting Member

I was playing a gig last night (which I haven't done in quite awhile), and since I started playing again I have switched to flatwounds. I noticed as the night wore on that the strings where I was plucking with my fingers seemed to get very sticky. I tried wiping it down, wiping my fingers, washing with water, etc., but it didn't seem to help. Maybe the skin on my fingers was just getting chewed up some, I don't know. Would something like Fast Fret or FingerEase work with flatwounds? Any other suggestions?

2. what kind of flatwounds are you using? some have more "tack" than others, especially when new. This usually wears down after a few weeks use.

3. Maj. Lee FUBAR

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I am using D'Addario Chromes.

4. those aren't one of the tackier flatwounds (which would include thomastik and rotos), but you may still find that it improves as you wear them in. Or maybe you'll get used to it.

this thread probably belongs in the stings subforum

5. superiorpine

superiorpine Superiorpine Gold Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2007
    Milwaukee WI
    I use TI flats, and they are kind of sticky in comparison to other strings. I treat them with silicone, sprayed on a shop rag and then wiped up and down. Seems to help quite a bit, and, it cleans any oxidation off the string as well. Its not expensive and can be bought at a variety store, hardware store or automotive parts store.

6. i've had the same issue w/ flats. if there is even a drop of moisture in the air I'm in trouble on a 3 hour gig (and my hands dont sweat)