Still feels like i suck

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Phunky, Feb 16, 2006.

1. Phunky

Phunky Guest

Aug 1, 2004
    i have been playing for about 2 years, and i play completely by ear, i've learned the most stuff from james brown, jamiroquai, chic, and just other stuff i love to play, but my improvs are still the same **** and they're quite boring and standard etc.. how should i act to get the most out of playing from cds? what do you do?
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

3. Start thinking about what makes those bass parts tick - what is it that you like about them?

Are there patterns or techniques you can learn and ingrain into your own style?

Try playing along with the songs, but make up your own parts instead of playing the one you know. You'll already know the song structure and chord changes, so just put your own bass part to it.
  4. d8g3jdh

d8g3jdh Guest

Aug 9, 2005
    Get into some other genres, start transcribing rock, metal, funk, jazz, whatever. Gives you a sense of what works when and what sounds like what when, something I am just beginning to develop.
  5. All_¥our_Bass

Dec 26, 2004
    Look online to try and find some music theory information. it's hard to understand some of the stuff at first :confused: but it eventually clicks and then your like " :hyper: OH, now I get it."

And maybe try finding some good books. I used "Bass Guitar For Dummies"-ignore the name :p , it's great.

Just remember that when learning, take everything with a grain of salt-nothing is set in stone

This quote helps
    "You must first learn the rules so you can break them properly"

Try learning some new techniques, like pianistic two handed tapping-it allows you to play many things that are impossible or very diffecult/painful with the usual fret and pluck strategy.

Sorry for the long post.
    Rock on :bassist:
  6. Phunky

Phunky Guest

Aug 1, 2004