1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Still learning about effects. Comments/advice on my current setup would be awesome

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Noshtero, Mar 25, 2009.

1. Noshtero

Noshtero Supporting Member

Dec 2, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    Hello all. So I'm still just getting into this new world of effects. So I've done the first step, I got a pile of pedals :) Now I just need to put them in order. I understand the whole notion of "whatever sounds best to me", but any advice would be appreciated. I'm quickly learning that it takes me a LOT longer to stumble on the right answer, then it does to just ask on here. I.e. settings for my VT Bass. I started playing around with it, but starting off with Jimmy's settings put me about 2 steps from the end of the road. Awesome.

So, without further ado, here's my pile of pedals.

Aphex Punch Factory
    EHX Stereo Electric Mistress
    EHX Bassballs
    MXR Blowtorch
    VT Bass
    Boss GEB-7
    Korg Pitchblack

Also...can you spot any holes in my aresenal? I play 90's rock music in my band, which is basically covered by the VT bass, but at home I cover a MUCH wider spectrum (rock, funk, metal, classical, etc...) I more just want to have the options. At this point, I don't have a sound I'm trying to achieve. Instead, I want my pedal board to open doors for me. Does that make sense without sounding too sappy? I wrote a bassline the other day using the Bassballs that just wouldn't have happened if I hadn't had that pedal. I dig on versatility and bang for the buck. Like the SEM for example. I can play with chorus or flange or both.

Thanks all!

2. Noshtero

Dec 2, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    Nothing?

3. Kosko

Kosko

Dec 12, 2005
    Buffalo