1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Sting Bass circuit mod project

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Greggo, May 1, 2009.

1. Greggo

Greggo Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2009
    Newbie here, working with a cool tech/builder on a customized Fender Sting bass. Rather than just leave this all up to him, I am searching for ideas to throw at him. Want to rip out the volume and tone pots, and instead install three toggle switches, all of them simple two way toggles that are either on or bypassed. I normally play my passive basses wide open anyways and was just going to wire this baby up direct from pickup to jack, but this old school single coil that fender uses in the Sting signature bass is very hot and very bright, so I want to tame it down a bit. Here are some ideas, but I could really use your help:

1) have one toggle simply be a roughly 3dB attenuator, so keep it on for most playing and turn it off for a bit hotter signal for solo's or something...

2) have a second toggle activate a first order filter that slowly rolls of the highs at one x db per octave starting at around 4kHz or something or maybe look for a good passive eq circuit that would fit in the control cavity and compliment the sound of this bass..

3) have a third toggle switch that offers a similar circuit to the above that has some use toggled on independently but also provides a usefull tone when used in conjunction with the other one...