1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sting Precision Mystery Solved?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Orpheus55, Dec 24, 2016.

1. I have a seventeen year old Sting Precision (in my avatar) which I play a lot--almost always with the chrome pickup and bridge covers (period correct) installed. Strictly for the look, and as a thumb rest. Sound guys have always loved it. A month ago, I removed the neck pickup cover and--right away--sound guy says he's getting a 60 cycle hum. Not my problem, right? Dodgy house wiring, blah-blah, blame the bass player right? Anyway, I put the pickup cover back on for no particular reason, and the hum disappears (same venue)...is it possible there was a reason for these things in the first place? Keep in mind, I am not an expert on any of this, but it seemed oddly coincidental.

2. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC
    In theory, anything's possible. But IMO, cover or no cover should have no bearing on hum. I've had them on and off of several with no effects one way or the other. Could be some sort of weird wiring or ground issue that is somehow related to the cover. :)

3. mikeswals

mikeswals Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    Originally on the early 50's P there was a ground wire that attached to the pickup cover.

But without that ground wire to make contact, that ground isn't happening.

seang15 and iammr2 like this.
  4. Well, as one sound guy told me, "Fender went to the split-pickup for a reason." Wonder if Sting himself has the same problem with his old but beautiful beater. FWIW, I replaced the original pickup with a basslines single coil--much more output and punch.

5. Plucker Tom

Plucker Tom

Dec 29, 2014
    Philly
    maybe the cover is blocking some outside signals trying to get into the pickup..?...just a thought..

6. petrus61

petrus61 Supporting Member