1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Stingray sound issue

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Abovethisfire, Dec 28, 2006.

1. Abovethisfire

Abovethisfire

Sep 29, 2006
    Greetings All,
    I play a 3 EQ Musicman Stingray with active pickups. I bought it used in August and recorded with it (www.myspace.com/abovethisfire) and I've noticed recently that it doesn't have the same signature stingray sound anymore. I've changed the battery, made sure all of my cords are plugged all the way in and everything.

The only thing I haven't done is change the strings but I don't think that would make that big of a difference. Is it a wiring problem? Is this something I could pull off myself (I'm a noob when it comes to wiring and repair) or should i just take it to the local instrument repair shop.

There was one occasion where the sound did seem to just pop back on in the middle of one of my sets but that hasn't happened again.

I play in a pretty high energy band but I'm not really being abusive with the bass, I just jump around a bunch.

2. nivagues

nivagues

Jan 18, 2002
    Australia
    >>>...There was one occasion where the sound did seem to just pop back on in the middle of one of my sets but that hasn't happened again.

Seems like the battery's not making propper contact with the terminals inside the battery housing.

9 volt batteries look the same but actually vary as to physical dimensions.

Try a Duracell brand

3. Abovethisfire

Abovethisfire

Sep 29, 2006
    so changing the battery would bring the stingray sound back ?

4. Relic

Relic Cow are you?

Sep 12, 2006
    Robbinsville, NJ
    If you have a so/so battery in there right now, you'll hear the difference definitely.
    Other than that, you may have a lose wire/bad connection somewhere but the battery is a cheap and easy place to start.