Straight Edge and Feeler Gauge Method

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by RudyTardy, Apr 30, 2019.

1. RudyTardy

RudyTardy

Aug 20, 2002
    Los Angeles
    Forgive me if this particular question has been answered in a previous thread, I did do a lot of searching. I realize that this issue is perhaps somewhat OCD, but I am relatively new to setting up my own basses and I am trying to establish a baseline so that I can gauge relief with my eyes and hands eventually. That said, here's what I am trying to learn:

1. When using a straight edge and feeler gauges, where on the neck do you place the straight edge? The radius of the frets seems to alter my readings a bit if I measure near the E string versus between the A+D. Do you press down at all on the straight edge at all to make sure its' flat side is perpendicular against the frets?

2. What is considered a correct reading with the feeler? Should it barely touch the top of the straight edge? Should it drop through on its own if you let it go? I know this is probably considered common sense but when you get down to the difference between .012 and .015 its hard to assess the variance.

I watched the video of the Lakland guy where he bent the end of the feeler and hung it on the neck and he mentions the edge "touching all three points" which I assume were the 12th fret, gauge fret and 1st fret. Is this the better method?

FYI I am setting up a brand new custom shop P, so hopefully uneven fretwork and all that other business aren't impeding me.

Thanks for your help!

2. ProfFrink

ProfFrink

Jan 16, 2015
    Re 1 - I didn't get what you mean. Are you using a straight edge along the fretboard or are you trying to use a ruler to measure the height of the strings?