Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Strange buzzing problem with Victor Bailey Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by JFN, Jun 3, 2004.

1. JFN

JFN Supporting Member

I am having a problem with fret noise/buzzing with my Fender Victor Bailey Jazz Bass. I string it with DR Highbeams, which I have been using for a few months now. The last set I had on for maybe three weeks, when I started getting buzzing on the E and A all the way up the neck. Raising the action did not help.

I bought a new set of Highbeams and took it to my tech (he is highly regarded and goes all the way back to the Gibson factory in Kalamazoo, which is where I live). He changed the strings and made some adjustments (truss rod, action, etc).

When I went to pick it up, the E string is still buzzing, even after he raised the action a bit more than normal. Other things of note include:

- He checked for raised frets and there were none.
    - The buzzing seems to be all up and down the neck.
    - The buzz starts about a half second or second after plucking the string.
    - The buzz occurs even when plucking lightly.

- *** When the bass is laid flat, it does not buzz. Only when held in playing position does it buzz (this one I totally don’t get). ***

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

John

2. Rapscallion2112

Rapscallion2112

Apr 21, 2004
    Detroit
    hey, another guy from michigan. cool.

but ya, thats a really weird thing. i am taking a really wild guess but maybe the bolts keeping the neck on are loose?? i dont even know if that makes any sence really, but maybe when its set on the ground it is in place and when it is in playing position it is saging a bit? you know what i mean? i dunno. try tightening up the bolts in the back? but ya, i still really dont know.

3. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md