Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Strange buzzing problem with Victor Bailey Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by JFN, Jun 4, 2004.

1. JFN

JFN Supporting Member

I originally posted this on the Luthier's Corner forum, but thought I might get more responses in Setup...

I am having a problem with fret noise/buzzing with my Fender Victor Bailey Jazz Bass. I string it with DR Highbeams, which I have been using for a few months now. The last set I had on for maybe three weeks, when I started getting buzzing on the E and A all the way up the neck. Raising the action did not help.

I bought a new set of Highbeams and took it to my tech (he is highly regarded and goes all the way back to the Gibson factory in Kalamazoo, which is where I live). He changed the strings and made some adjustments (truss rod, action, etc).

When I went to pick it up, the E string is still buzzing, even after he raised the action a bit more than normal. Other things of note include:

- He checked for raised frets and there were none.
    - The buzzing seems to be all up and down the neck.
    - The buzz starts about a half second or second after plucking the string.
    - The buzz occurs even when plucking lightly.

- *** When the bass is laid flat, it does not buzz. Only when held in playing position does it buzz (this one I totally don’t get). ***

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

John

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I have a similiar problem with a few frets on my Godin. Frets 7-9 or so on the D string.. buzzing is a second or so after plucked, and only when in playing position, not flat, so im also curious?

3. JFN

JFN Supporting Member

Update: