Strengthening the hand

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by barmycarmy, May 24, 2005.

1. This is my first post so hey all! :)

I've been playing bass for about two months now, and whilst i think i'm getting some bits, i'm struggling on others.

I have mainly noticed where i place my fingers on certain frets. I usually use my index finger and pinkie, sometimes my middle finger.

Now i'm sure this will come with practice, but the book i've been loosely learning from says that there should be a finger on each fret, but i just can't seem to stretch my fingers that far. It starts to really hurt, so i end up sliding my hand to reach frets instead of the "finger on each fret" method and i know i'm only making things harder for myself!
    I do have little hands, so i'm wondering if thats a problem at all?

Now i can play fairly simple stuff the way i'm playing now, but now i'm finding stuff to play thats abit more difficult simply because i can't stretch my fingers that far.

Does anyone have any suggestions how i can strengthen my hand?
  2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    You mean to tell me you can't play perfectly after two whole months? Geez, you might as well give up!

Seriously, it's not something you can get in just two months. Just practice and practice and it will come with time. Play a lot of scales slowly and steadily, then build up speed as you get better. Also, take a few lessons with a good teacher. Could be there's something in your technique causing your problems and a teacher could spot them. I have the smallest hands of any adult male I've ever seen and I have no problem reaching the 4 fret span.