String advice

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Amphetachronism, Jul 3, 2005.

1. Hey there. I'm a pretty new bassist, only a few months experience behind me. I've been playing with the same Yamaha stock strings since I bought my bass (A four-string RBX-270, if it matters).

However, I forsee an extended period of intensive playing starting around September (I have enrolled on a year long music course). So, before I start, I plan on jazzing up my rig a bit. I've quickly realised that whatever strings I have on now are, to be blunt, a load of crap. They're roundwounds that look like they've been left in a puddle of stagnant water for a month before they were strung onto my bass. They're killing my frets, and are very uncomfortable to play on, even on my pretty tough hands.

So I need some new strings. I play all manner of music - everything from heavy metal,to punk, soft rock, blues and funk. My heart will always belong to R.E.M. and Radioheads music, though.
    When I begin my music course, I have no doubt I'll be exposed to even more styles of playing. So, I need strings to suit. I like a good deep bassy sound, but with a decent amount of punch - I like to feel the bass as well as hear it. I usually play fingerstyle, though I use a pick quite often, and even my thumb. I sometimes downtune, though usually not more than dropped-D. I don't really like the sound of slapping so I don't do it often.

Any suggestions for a set of adaptable, durable strings that would suit my needs and style? I know this has probably been asked dozens of times, and I've been really long-winded about it, but I'd like to think people appreciate more info than "I want new strings, what do you suggest?". Oh, and I really need advice, too. :D
  2. Bruce B

Bruce B

Sep 2, 2004