string bass ---> electric bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ConTraBajisTa, Jan 20, 2002.

1. ConTraBajisTa

ConTraBajisTa Guest

Oct 5, 2000
    auburn, ny
    i started playing string bass at the end of 6th grade (about 3½ years ago) and about a year and a half ago my dad bought me a bass guitar and i began that.
    my question is, how many people have gone from string bass to electric bass? and if so, was there any difficulty you had in doing it? (i feel like i'm writing an essay question, LoL)

when i began electric bass, no one told me NOT to play ON the frets (as opposed to in between them), and since on upright you'd play where the positions are marked (if they're marked), thats what i thought the frets were. also, i always need something to rest my thumb on, but how do most bass players play? resting thumbs on the pick ups (which almost ruined mine, they got jammed way too far in), or like me, did you get a thumb rest put in, or do you even need one at all? and also, i play mostly classical music on upright bass, and i only know scales, and i don't know much about modes and all that technical stuff at all. i just figured i'd gain knowledge with experience. are modes and most of that technical stuff THAT important that i NEED to learn them? or would you just say learn with experience?

browsing through threads and things kinda got me to thinking how much i actually know about my bass guitar and how i'll ever progress with it. any input would be awesome. thanks.
  2. What is " string bass " ??

is that sort of like.. contrabass ? you American folks call it " upright " if i remember correctly
  3. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY