String Choice. Please help

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by alx564, Nov 13, 2000.

1. alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA
    Hey Everyone,
    I recently bought a bass from eBay and I want to change the strings. What would you recommend. My styles of playing are mostly rock, or hard rock. I don't really play much jazz because I am basically a beginner (playin for bout a year). I slap a lot too (I don't know if the strings would effect that, I think they do). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
  2. alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA
    I also forgot to ask if I should get roundwounds or flatrounds, and I forgot to mention that price is not a thing because I will get them as aChristmas present.
  3. 311 fan

311 fan

Sep 24, 2000
    La Verne, CA
    You need to get roundwounds, first off. Im currently using Earnie Ball Slinkys. Their really good. Ive heard for rock music you should get GHS. Their really popular and cost about 17 dollars. Your bass matters to, of course. If its a Fendr, throw it out your window. If its an Ibanez, anything will work. Ask a guy at the store. Thay usually know a lot.
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

You might try Rotosounds. But, they're more expensive than Ernie Balls, but they're noted for their lifespan. I've been using them for about 25 years, (uhhh, not the same set). Noel Redding, John Entwhistle, Chris Squire, Stanley Clarke, John Paul Jones, Mark King and Geddy Lee use'em, too. "...the standard by which all other bass strings are evaluated to this day...."