1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String choice

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by bruiser1964, Apr 16, 2010.

1. Hi Guys,
    I have read most of the threads regarding strings but am still confused...

I'm a DB newbie I have a Zellar 3/4 strung with Helicore Mediums.
    I'm only playing pizz and looking for a loud thumpy sound
    My bass is going into the luthier next weekend for a setup with my new adjustable bridge and full circle
    I would like to set a low action and prefer a light feel I'm going for 7 - 5mm (Currently set at 13mm fixed bridge)

I'm looking at the Pirastro Jazzers or Thomastik Spirocore soft

Any thoughts?
    P.S I don't want a teacher!!!

2. JtheJazzMan

JtheJazzMan

Apr 10, 2006
    Australia
    I assume by thumpy you mean dark with short sustain? The spiros arent going to be dark or thumpy or have short sustain unless you play them in hard for 18 months, and get them dirty and oily. Also with low action they tend to have less peak volume, but a more even and longer sustain, whereas with higher action theres greater volume and energy on that initial attack.

Also how you pluck the string greatly determines how the string rings out, so in that sense, you need a teacher who has the technique youre looking for.

3. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Sting choice? Doesn't he play mostly BG? :)

You might want to check into Evah Pirazzi weichs. Big punchy powerful dark sound.

When you say 7 - 5 mm, do you mean 7 mm at the E and 5 mm at the G? Yup, that would be low. I'm assuming the 13 mm you mentioned is currently at the E. Just curious-- what's currently the height of your G?

4. Indeed, if you want a thumpy tone (generally dark at the same time) with low action, you need an orchestral string, not Jazzers or Spiros.
    The Helicores might do the trick.