1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String choices 4 different Styles?

Discussion in 'G&L Bass Forum' started by fastfloyd, Sep 14, 2008.

1. fastfloyd

fastfloyd

Apr 22, 2008
    Lebanon OR.
    So I've been Playing for many years, but I've never really tried different string types (low riders, flats, ETC.) Any suggestions for Finger style rock on my L2k? What do you all
    Like?

2. FidgetStone

FidgetStone

Jun 30, 2002
    Allen, TX
    I keep coming back to TI Jazz flats. Even when I like many of the characteristics of other strings and often change for the sake of change, to quote Al Pacino in Godfather III, the TI Jazz flats "keep pulling me back in."

3. sunbeast

sunbeast Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2006
    Los Angeles, CA
    My new faves are TI Superalloys. They are very balanced string to string and have a very full response without being too harsh even when new. Their only drawback is that they only come in a fairly light tension set, but I'm liking the tension ok now (I used to use much higher tension strings). They are a nickel string, which I find ideal for fingerstyle as steel strings can have alot of fret noise and harsh overtones. Steels are ideal for a really bright attack, and sound great with a pick, I just could never dig their fingerstyle tone. That said, my favorite strings on my old L2500 and SB-2 for quite a while were DR Black Beauties. They are a steel string, but have a colored coating on the outer wrap which cuts down on alot of the harshness- they have a punchy fingerstyle tone with lots of low mids and just the right bright top end. I've found those strings sounded really good for a long time, but others say that they are really dull sounding to begin with- just depends on what you're going for. I've had a short phase with each of