String Choices for 5 String (low B) Basses

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Pete G, Apr 11, 2005.

1. Pete G

Pete G

Dec 31, 2001
    Northern Virginia
    Question for you 5-string veteran orchestra players: What strings do you like? Do you prefer a complete set of strings, or do you mix strings of different types?

I've been experimenting a lot with strings on my 4-string Arvi, and I've recently come to like the Pirastro Permanents for orchestra work. But I wonder whether the added tension of the fifth string doesn't render much of my 4-string experience irrelevant.

Anyway, I'd love to hear what strings work for you veterans.
  2. I'm not an orchestra player, but i'm a veteran jazz player. See my Joseph Bohmann in the Talkbasses under the Bass Forum heading. Hear it under Recordings under the Talkbass Sampler.
    I'm not a stranger to the bow and I recommend Thomastik Spirocore Orchestra strings only. I don't do any bowing on these recordings, but believe me, the low B sounds like a pipe organs bass pedals!
  3. Pete G

Pete G

Dec 31, 2001
    Northern Virginia
    Thanks, Paul. I've heard that the Spirocores don't "speak" as easily and clearly as some strings that are considered more bow-friendly, such as Flexocors. If that were true, it would seem like even more of a negative on a five-string than a four, given the challenge of closer-set strings, less margin for error on the bowing angle of attack, etc.

On the other hand, there are some orchestra players who swear by them, especially on the low strings, for precisely the reason you mention -- they are powerful.
  4. Pete G

Pete G

Dec 31, 2001
    Northern Virginia
    And Paul, that bass of yours is the most amazing thing I've ever seen...
  5. Thanks Pete....glad you like it.
    In the world of jazz pizz, there is no other B string. All the others just go 'splat'. The Thomastik rings like a great E string on a four stringer. It's even possible to get pizz vibrato out of the Thomastik B!