String clacking revisited

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by GraffixNyc, Oct 25, 2004.

1. GraffixNyc

May 3, 2004
    New York City
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    ok. I have a spector euro 5 and I play 1/2 step down. My action is as low as possible without getting any buzz. When playing with my right hand I get a clacking sound. I know this topic has been visited and revisited and what I learned from reading topics here is that some people say raise the action and others say if you raise that action there will be more clacking. I'm positive the clacking is coming from my hand hand when I attack. I also read try playing with a lighter touch and turn the volume up but I get the clacking even if I'm not playing too hard. I really love having low action and don't really want to raise it if I don't have to but I would really like to get rid of the clacking sound. Is there something I can do with my right hand that will make it clack less? I'm pretty much self taught so I'm leaning more towards that it is a technique problem more so then a set up issue.
  2. I used to have the same problem many moons ago. :) It was my right hand technique. Make sure you are plugging the strings parallel to the bass and are not pushing them down on the fretboard while plugging. That caused the clicking noise in my case.
  3. Scot

Scot Supporting Member

Mar 20, 2004
    Pacifica, CA, USA