Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

String cleaner!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Tym2cu_bass, Jun 28, 2004.

1. Hey, I just got some new strings and I don't want to have to buy new ones again in like... 2 months, so anyone got some stuff that rocks on cleaning strings? thx

2. rusty

rusty

Mar 29, 2004
    Singapore
    Denatured alcohol

3. slugworth

slugworth Banned

Jun 12, 2003
    So. Calif.
    GHS Fast Fret.

4. KenToby

KenToby

Aug 15, 2002
    Coil the strings up and drop them in boiling water for about 10 minuits; Dry them off and you're good to go!

Dead strings are the result of sweat, oil and dead skin getting cought in between the windings of the string. Boiling cleans them nice and fresh and breaths the life back into them. I've been doing this for 24 years now with absolutly no down side what so ever. I read in bass player ( I don't remember who it was) of a famous player who does this same thing and only changes sets of strings when one breaks.

I save TONS of dought too!!

KT...

5. Finger Blister

Finger Blister

Jul 8, 2003
    After two months the dirt and crud the string is broken in just right.

6. +1

Just soak them overnight, and you'll be :bassist:
    I do this every 2-4 weeks, shifting between sets, and a set can easily last up till a year. It's only when the dents from the frets gets too big, you'll have to dish them.

Boiling is the last resort when everything else fails, and it'll only get them brigth for a week or less. Fast Fret used regulary should be good too... If you can take the feel of it.

7. Methyl Hydrate

8. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH