1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String crossing uptempo

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by matthewbrown, Feb 19, 2008.

1. matthewbrown

matthewbrown Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2003
    Harwich, MA, USA
    I've been playing EUB (Azola acoustic baby bass) for about 3 years now, and find I'm still having problems at faster tempos when crossing strings; the radius of the strings continues to mess up my right hand (left hand too, but not as much). I've started developing some exercises based on what I used to do with BG, and they seem to help, but I'd love to know what some more experienced players have done to deal with this issue.

2. basbende

basbende

Feb 23, 2008
    I think there are two things that could help:
    doing right hand exercising VERY regular. for instance jumping strings:
    gg/dd/gg/aa/gg/ee - gg/ee/gg/aa/gg/dd
    dd/gg/dd/aa/dd/ee etc...
    !!always alternate between your fingers, except if you go down to the next string, because then the finger you're playing can just continue to that string.

By doing this, and following the rule with the switching between 1st and 2nd finger, you'll develop a high level of independence and with that you'll gain speed.

Second thing is against the rules I use for the exercise above, but very helpful when you play: if u go up one or more strings play the lower string with your middle finger and the upper with your index-finger. It makes the movement smaller!

exercise in a tempo in which your notes are regular, push up the tempo from there.
    In this case: daily 5 mins works a lot lot lot better then 3 hours once a week...

www.olafmeijer.nl
    www.jazzsupply.nl

3. Mike Arnopol

Mike Arnopol Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 4, 2005
    Chicago
    Owner of MAS Soundworks