String Gauge Calculation

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by JACink, Feb 5, 2018.

1. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    First off, I apologize that this is not bass related!

I have a small guitar, 19.5" scale, that I would like to tune to BEADGC (but an octave above bass), although I would be ok even with regular guitar tuning.

I have tried various string calculators on line but each one gives me a different result, one tells me that I need 0.100 for all four bottom strings. However, as I have no experience with guitar strings (except for randomly buying a pack now and again), I am sure that it is user error.

I am ok with not so tight strings as long as they are not so floppy that they are unplayable. I am also ok with retuning, this is only for practice while on an upcoming trip, as long as it is not every 3 notes ;)

2. ixlramp

ixlramp Guest

Jan 25, 2005
    I guess you want a guitar type tension? (like a .042 E on 25.5" scale).
    .100 for the 4 lowest is an error yes.

3. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    Yes. Any tension that is playable is fine. I don't want to over do it as the neck doesn't have a truss rod.

4. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    Well, I ordered 10-46 set. I will give them a go and take it from there.

5. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    You can probably tune those B to C, but it will be 2 octaves above bass, not one.

JACink likes this.
  6. ixlramp

ixlramp Guest

Jan 25, 2005
    JACink likes this.
  7. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    Thanks @lz4005 adn @ixlramp

My biggest worry about going so big is the tension on the neck (it doesn't have a truss rod).

I thought about using old bass strings first to see what the result is, maybe discarding the thinnest 2 or 3 from the guitar set and replacing with D and G string from bass.

a .100 does worry me though.

8. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013