1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String goes semitone flat when bowing

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by dtsamples, Apr 15, 2010.

1. dtsamples

dtsamples Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2010
    Wilmington, DE
    Hello,

I am brand new to DB, and I am trying to learn to use a French bow. I am having some trouble bowing on the open G string.

When I downbow near the frog, the note is true. As I pull, it seems to hit a spot where it goes a semitone flat, and as I keep pulling it goes back up to pitch. The result is G<Gb<G all in one downbow. I don't notice the same problem with an upbow. I also only notice this problem at a very specific spot on the string. I've looked at the string and cant see a noticeable burr. I'm wondering if this is some how due to an excess of rosin in that one spot on the bow, or if it could be due to a string imperfection.

My bow also isn't strung perfectly. I think I screwed it up when I was applying rosin for the first time. I've got loose hairs going in every which direction even when the screw is tightened. My teacher played with my bow on a different bass and didn't notice the issue, so that's why I'm thinking it is something to do with the string.

Sorry if this is a stupid beginner question!

Thanks,

dtsamples

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    It could be a bum string, e.g., something wrong with the internal core. My son's first cello (1/8 size) had strings that would go a semitone [DEL]flat[/DEL] sharp when bowed hard. New strings cleared up the problem.