Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

string height (again)

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by lola99, Mar 9, 2006.

1. lola99

lola99

Jan 28, 2006
    :bag: I must apologize for asking this question, but I am a newbie idiot so I must.

I got a 1984 Peavey Fury with very high action. I need to lower the strings. I have read through this section and the online Fury owner's manual, and I gather there are three ways of doing this: adjusting the neck tilt, the truss rod, the bridge height.

The owner's manual suggests adjusting the neck tilt and the truss rod before touching the bridge height. I ordered the necessary tool for the truss rod from Peavey, and it should arrive soon.

Should I take the owner's manual at its word and start off by adjusting the truss rod and the neck tilt? These sound like really essential parts of the bass to mess with and I'm scared :( . I've never done something like this before, and I really love the feel of this bass, but I can't play it as the strings are too high!!! I know that taking it in to a pro is a good idea, but if I do that I'll never learn how to fix my own bass myself.

Any advice? :crying:

2. lola99

lola99

Jan 28, 2006
    Joshua, thank you very much for helping.

There's a little under 1/8" clearance.

3. lola99

lola99

Jan 28, 2006
    Thank you again. I think I'll wait till dinner time, feed the family, have some beer, say a prayer, light a candle, have more beer and try to lower the saddle. Maybe bourbon instead of beer? Hmmm....

I would have thought that was the easiest option of the three, too, but the manual said that the "neck tilt should be used to adjust the string height."

I'll let you know how this all works out.

4. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2005
    Nashville, TN