1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String Height

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by ding_man, Jul 19, 2008.

1. ding_man

ding_man

Dec 24, 2006
    Celina, OH
    I'm an electric bassist who got ahold of an old upright. I took it to an upright player I know and he said the strings were too high to play really..

so I took apart everything and sanded down the bridge and moved it around and I think I got something decent..

any how at the highest points its around 1 cm on the G string and the D and A are a bit higher while the E is pretty close..

I think I might actually be a bit low cause I'm getting a little buzz when I strum too hard on the G and E, but maybe its just cause I'm picking too hard. I'm also having trouble playing around where the thumb position starts, but I'm assuming thats just because I'm beginning on it.

Any opinions?

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I think you need a teacher - nobody here can see your bass or how you are playing it - so basically it is impossible to comment; whereas a decent teacher, seeing you and your bass, face to face, would be able to diagnose any issues you have...?

3. charlespf

charlespf

Oct 21, 2007
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Yeah. You need a good teacher and a good luthier. Attempting your own adjustments is a slippery slope that usually ends with more bad than good. If you're buzzing with 1cm on the G, then something's wrong with your setup.

4. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    Sanded!!!?!?! :bag: Which end? If you sanded the feet..... :meh: