Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

String help!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by dmaki, Mar 19, 2002.

1. dmaki

dmaki

Apr 29, 2000
    Chattanooga
    I've been playing bass for 2 1/2 years now and still haven't found "that string". The ones that I've liked the most were EB Slinkys and GHS boomers. Less than a week ago I bought a guitar, and after playing guitar for a short period of time, when I go to play my bass with DR Sunbeams, I can barely hear any tone whatsoever. I have an Ibanez GSR 200 (4 stringer) with EMG P-J's and an Eden Nemesis 2x10"

What is a long lasting, quality string with clarity in its tone that isn't too harsh?

I like a punchy tone with a bit of growl (but controllable) if that helps at all...

Thanks,
    Dave

2. eli

eli Mad showoff 7-stringer and Wish lover Supporting Member

Dec 12, 1999
    NW suburban Chicago
    Hate to sound like a broken record but Elixirs are really nice. They have the brightness without the initial "sproing" of brand-new strings, but then they NEVER change -- for like a year. Really. It's an expensive experiment but I'm set for life.

I have two Conk Groove Tools, the fretted with Polywebs and the fretless with Nanowebs, and these strings have treated me well. I just realized I had to replace the set on the fretless, which I had bought for a Carvin bass in Feb '01. When I sold the Carvin in April '01, I kept the strings and put them onto the Conk fretless. Good move! I got a free set of Polywebs during their introduction in June '99 (so mailing lists aren't ALL bad) which stayed on the Carvin until I bought the Conk. So, two sets of strings in almost three years? Not too shabby!

3. I'll second the Elixirs. They were a little bright for me (I now use flatwounds) but they were definitely really good. The sound didn't change at all in 3 months.

Sounds like they'd be perfect for you.