String length

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Kathy Welliver, Feb 18, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Kathy Welliver

Kathy Welliver

Dec 9, 2017
    I am very new to bass building. I am working on my first build and doing most of the work by hand so it's taken me many months of binge watching Netflix while shaping the components to my bass. I am to the point of getting strings for it without killing my budget. Mind you, I started building the bass because I want to play one but can't afford one. I play bass guitar but really want the feel of playing an upright. From the bridge to the tuners is 60 inches, can you tell me what strings come in that length that would also work with an active pickup? Thanks for your help

2. 60" bridge-to-tuners seems long if I'm understanding correctly. What is the string length bridge-to-nut? Gollihur shows a typical Innovation set as 51 1/2" from ball end to nut, plus a 17" wrapped section. The classified section will help you find decent used strings at a fair price.

3. The usual scale from bridge to nut is around 41 inches for a 3/4 bass, which is the standard.
    To that is added the bridge to tailpiece lenght, and the nut to tuners.
    There's a good lenght of silk up there.

james condino and csrund like this.
  4. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    You've gone about this backwards. You should have researched availability of strings and then designed the instrument to that length.

With a bridge to tuner measurement of 60" you're looking at a scale length over a foot longer than any commercially available bass.

Are you sure you're measuring bridge to tuner and not tailpiece to tuner?

As for active pickups...any string that works with a passive pickup will also work with an active one.

5. And what is that active pickup, by the way?
    Bass guitar magnetic type?
    If so there are several DB strings that won't work at all, or poorly, with magnetic pickups.

the_Ryan likes this.
  6. Kathy Welliver

Kathy Welliver

Dec 9, 2017