1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String recommendation for MK EUB

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Cartier76, Jan 9, 2021.

1. Cartier76

Cartier76

Sep 23, 2020
    Houston area
    Greetings and Happy New Year!

Can you advise me on string selection for an MK Studio P electric upright bass, which should be completed in a a couple of weeks? I have been reading TB threads about strings, but the response of the MK pickup sounds different from the Stagg and NS basses, and might suit different strings.

I am a beginner, 3 months on a double bass (might be comparable to a Christopher but is labeled for the Houston violin shop where I bought it). That bass has Helicore orchestral strings, middle tension I think. It is a little dark sounding, and lighter tension may be less fatiguing.

I have played fretted bass guitar about 35 years, and would like to transition to upright bass in the small ensembles in church and the folk/blugrass jam with friends from work.

The MK EU bass will be for performances at church, which should not have feedback problems indoors.

2. Might even depend if there is a moving top below the bridge or not.
    Often lower tension synthetic core strings work well with a solid body EUB. If you only need the EUB for DB-typical stuff and can do the more modern songs with BG the synthetic core strings are good. I would take a less stretchy string like an Innovation (braided or honeys if you want to bow too). Otherwise the room on the peg might not be enough.
    If you want to go the steel core route take a light string or downtuned Solos.

3. Krantz

Krantz Supporting Member

Mar 8, 2009