1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String ringing heard even after muting??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kebbs, Sep 10, 2008.

1. kebbs

kebbs Modus vivendi

Aug 30, 2005
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hello everyone,

I play a Douglas SB-35 that I bought off Rondomusic. This is an active 5-er and I've been playing it for over 2 years now. Everything is fine except one thing: when I slap, the sound tends to be messy. Let me elaborate.

It's almost as if there is some fast-decaying "ghost string" that is audible even after I mute all strings simultaneously. I tested this by slapping each string and immediately muting all strings with my fretting hand (it is particularly audible with B and A strings). I even tried muting the strings past the nut, towards the tuners, but to no avail.

It is very annoying and is sucking my confidence dry when it comes to slapping. I don't even bother slapping with this bass anymore. And, I just had this setup professionally...

Everything else is fine with this bass however. What could be going on here? Is this because this bass is an inexpensive one and thus the craftsmanship is simply not there?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Cheers,
    kebbs

2. DanielleMuscato

DanielleMuscato

Jun 19, 2004
    Columbia, Missouri, USA
    Endorsing Artist, Schroeder Cabinets
    Take it back and tell them it needs further adjustment. No reputable shop will charge for some additional tweaking if it's needed. Hope this helps.

3. kebbs

kebbs Modus vivendi

Aug 30, 2005
    Ottawa, Canada
    Thanks Dave, I will do that - there is indeed a 90 day setup warranty.

But what worries me more is that this weird sound existed even before this setup. I am not sure whether the tech will be able to fix this at all... :(

4. Could simply be harmonic resonance in the body or pickups.

5. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006
    Singapore