String size/gauge

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Cambass, Feb 3, 2001.

1. G'day

I'm still learning all there is about bass gear. Recently though I bought some new strings and at the shop the assistant asked what size I wanted. I replied "I wouldn't have a clue". I wasn't that aware that strings came in different thickness.

My question is, what is the difference between different thickness's of strings? Do smaller strings give a more higher sound? Is there a recommended size you should use for each bass?

2. K_D_Waterbury

Feb 7, 2001
    Well I haven't been playing long (3 years)but have changed my strings a couple of times now and I am getting ready to do it again. I, personally, have a preference for heavier guage strings. I like the fuller sound that I get out of them. But that is just my opinion and like I said I haven't been playing very long and most likely have a bit to learn too

A lot of it will just come down to trying different guages and finding what works best for you

The set I am getting ready to put on are .115, .095, .075, .055

We will see how long that will last
  3. seamus

Feb 8, 2001
    >>"My question is, what is the difference between different thickness's of strings?"

Different thicknesses are used for all sorts of reasons. Without me going into all the manufacturers, the thickness, or gauge is something you need to check out on your own to see what you like best. Maybe medium is a good place to start, say something standard like .45 .65 .85 .105. I don't use Fender strings, but they sell some pretty cheap sets that you can use for experimenting.

Also, bear in mind that a thinner string will probably have less tension than a thicker string when it is on your bass, this can make a difference in how you play them. This may or may not suit you depending on your playing style. If you attack the strings hard, then stick with mediums, the fatness and tension might suit you better.