1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String spacing issues?!?!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GonzoBfiddy, Oct 16, 2013.

1. I have a question for my fellow TB'ers. How signifiant is the difference in string spacing on 5-string basses. To be specific.....between G&Ls L2500, MusicMans StingRay Classic 5 or SR5, and Fenders Deluxe Jazz 5?
    I started my journey into the world of 5-strings back in '07 with my purchase of an L2500 after decades of playing 4-string axes exclusively. Lately I have begun to realize a difference in my attack. I'm much less aggressive and do so much more thinking and less "feeling" while performing than I did before. Playing slap-style specifically requires more attention and focus to play cleanly and as articulate as I did before I started playing the 5. I chose the G&L because I owned 2 L2000s previously and the neck on the L2500 appeared to be a little less thick than other basses I considered. (important as I don't have the largest hands.) 1 thing I never took into consideration was string spacing. I'm beggining to think that was a huge mistake. I'm curious to hear the opinions of those who are familiar with these basses.
    Thanks

2. Fenwick

Fenwick

Dec 9, 2012
    Montreal
    I'm not familiar with those basses in particular, but I've faced spacing issues before. My only 5 string (Cort b5) has a very tight 16mm spacing, as opposed to my 4s which are both 19. I definitely feel 'cramped up' when playing the 5, 16mm is too tight for me.

I know that 5s range anywhere from 16-20mm (likely wider) string spacing. Some people don't have a problem switching between different spacings, I'm not one of those people. I think 17.5-19 is fairly common, likely the basses you mentioned within that spectrum.