Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

string spacing

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by EGORE, Jan 22, 2003.

1. EGORE

EGORE

Jan 22, 2003
    fort worth,tx
    I am looking to buy a 5 string.I have a 4 string Fernandes bass that I bought brand knew back in 92,but don't know what kind of Fernandes bass it is.
    self taught for a few years then did not pick it up again until about 6 months ago.
    I play with a pick and I would like my string spacing to be as narrow as possible.
    How narrow of string spacing can I get with a 5 string bass?
    Is it 16.5 mm?or can I go closer?
    Also after I get my 5 string,could I get my 4 string
    bass string spacing adjusted to the same spacing
    as my 5 string bass?
    To get a more narrow string spacing on my 4
    string wouldn't I just have to install a new bridge?
    I love to play chords at a very rapid pace and I am sure that a very narrow string spacing would enhance my playing very much so.
    I can play some bass,just don't know to much about
    setting them up.
    I play and learn alone and don't know anyone who plays bass.

Hope someone can help me out.

2. I've found string spacing on basses (the ones i've tried in shops etc) to be fairly consistent. Sure some are closer, some are slightly farther apart from each other.

If you were to go the whole hog to make them closer, you'd need a thinner neck, a different bridge, and a different nut. Seems a lot of work to me.

You do get used to it in time. After a day or two of playing, it becomes natural. A bass will never have string spacing that of a electric guitar. The strings are too thick and would more than likely cause sympathetic vibrations from the other strings.