1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

string suggestions

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Mike Arnopol, Mar 12, 2008.

1. Mike Arnopol

Mike Arnopol Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 4, 2005
    Chicago
    Owner of MAS Soundworks
    I play jazz for a living. Mostly pizz, but pretty much arco. I'm a geek as far as most gear, but have been pretty conservative as far as string choices. I've used Spirocores for the past 25 years. ( Mittels, I guess ) The set on my bass has been there for 10 years. I don't even start to like Spiros until they've been on for a year. A year ago I put an Obligato G and D on my bass. They match really well with the Spiros as far as tension and volume. I've just been a bit disappointed that they haven't lost a bit of a midrangey, nasal sound. I think that there might be better choices than Spiros and I'm wondering what you guys think. Never liked D'Addarios. I worry with strings like the Bel Cantos that there wouldn't be enough pizz "oomph" .Maybe the EP's? What I'm looking for is the sound and power of my 10 year old Spiros with a bit less tension and a little more openness.

2. Uncletoad

Uncletoad

May 6, 2003
    Columbus Ohio
    Proprietor Fifth Avenue Fret Shop. Technical Editor Bass Gear Magazine
    My suggestion is to avoid the urge to change and stick with your ancient Spirocores. If you are like a lot of us once you start experimenting with strings you'll spend a fortune on it and eventually end up right back where you are a couple thousand dollars poorer with ancient spirocores again.

If you haven't stopped reading and gone back to the bass yet here are more thoughts.

If you can make a Spirocore sound good with a bow you can make anything sound good with a bow so whatever string you choose I'm sure you can make it work.