1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

String Tension/Action for a new slap bassist

Discussion in 'Ask Ray Riendeau' started by querry, Mar 11, 2010.

1. querry

querry

Mar 11, 2010
    so, i'm new to slap bass (like super new) and I had a few questions

So my setup is essentially a p-bass w/ a vintage jazz pu stuck on.

So I'm just starting to try out some slapping, but i don't think i'm getting the right sound b/c when i do slap my string hits the fret which leads to a jarring sound, followed by the desired slap sound. I'm not sure if this sound is normal/supposed to be there and I've just not noticed it in other peoples slapping, or if i'm doing something wrong. I think i'm either a) slapping to hard and slamming the strings into the board or b) my string tension isn't high enough and so the strings fall into the strings more readily.

In either of these cases (or if its something completely different) can you tell me how to fix this?

2. Ok, i know im not the guy here (Ray), but i thought id help out....forgive me if this is against the rules.

Its sounds like either the strings are too loose, youre hitting them too hard, or the action is too low. Let me ask this...where on the string in relation to the bridge or fretboard are you slapping? It should be close to the fretboard, if not RIGHT OVER the last fret or so. Personally, i hit the area of the string just PAST the fret board...approaching the neck PU.

Secondly, although its hard to describe velocity....you dont have to hit hard at all. Just enough to make the strings move, really.

If there was any way you could post a video of your technique...we could try to critique im sure...

3. JLP

JLP

Mar 15, 2008