Strings and recording

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by xqusemuah, Jan 16, 2002.

1. Ok, I am in my 1st year of URB. I get a nice pizz sound live, but when I try to record, the bass sounds too electric and mid rangy. I also hear a lot of finger thump type noise. It seems I have to eq the mids away like crazy to try and conteract this bogusness of sound.

I have tried a Schectner pickup and now I am using a K&K Golden Trinity. My bass is a new carved Chineese. I am using Spirocore wiech strings now. My thoughts are that this bass is new and therfore bright sounding itself. So are the Spirocores. Should I try a darker string on this bass? How about Thomastik Superflexables?
  2. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    Need more info, X. Are you recording direct or with a mike? What kind of mike? Where are you placing it? What are you recording with? What are you trying to do with the product -- practice, demo, sale?
  3. I am using a K&K Golden Trinity set up, which is a condenser mic and piezo combination. I am mixing those two together in a Raven Labs Master Blender which works great. The top channel has 10meg input inpedence which drives the condenser mic great and the bottom channel is 820k ohms which gets the full range from the piezo. I then take two balanced outs from the Raven Labs preamp into two channels on a Mackie board (one with the new vlz preamps, I forget the model #). One is dry, one wet with Lexicon. Eq flat on the board.

Have tried the preamp that came with the K7K pick up system, but the Raven Labs is way smoother. Have tried going direct with phantom power from the Mackie, also have tried a SM58 solo. I seem to get the warmest tone from more mic than piezo in the mix.
  4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY