Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Strings for 35 scale

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by luisnovelo, Jun 29, 2002.

1. Hi everyone..

I'm new to the low B and just got myfirst 5string bass 3 days ago. (an Ibanez btb405 - which is great btw) It is 35 scale..
    I had checked some 34 and 35 scale 5 & 6 stringers before so I already had experienced the issue of floppiness in the low B..

Well.. I think I almost completely understand the physics involving tension, scale length, pitch, and "tightness", on bass guitars..

Well.. let's dig it..

My 35 scale bass came with strings of heavier gauge than most 34 5 stringers I'had played,.. and the Ibanez instruction manual recommends 35 scale basses -let's say 5 stringers- being strung up with:

G .045
    D .065
    A .085
    E .105
    B .130

while in 34 scale 5stringers:

G .044
    D .063
    A .080
    E .98
    B .121

My question is.. Shouldn't 35 scale basses be strung with the same gauges as a 34 scale? I mean..

I think that using heavier gauges, the properties of the increasement on the scale lenght is less efficient.

lets put it this way..

If you have two basses.. one 34" and another 35" with exactly the same string gauges.. the 35" would need more tension to give the same pitch as the 34 scale, wouldn't it? there fore.. I you have those 2 basses tuned the same, the 35" would feel more tight..

If I'm not clear.. my point is that It seems logic to me that stringing a 35" bass with heavier gauge strings reduces the effect of the larger scale.. So.. I don't see the point on it, and I think I would enjoy much more the benefit of the larger scale with lighter strings on my bass... But before spending on a new set of strings..

Anyone thinks the same or thinks I'm wrong, I would like to read some comments..

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Hi Luis,