strings for 6 string bass...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by ChiliPepper, Sep 9, 2005.

1. Hi,

since i'm new to 6 string bass , i have absolutely no idea what strings i should buy.
    right now i have elixir strings...

check out the link in my signature for a small video i recorded
  2. On my six string bass I have a set of half-rounds. Here are my thoughts:

There is only one string type that offers bassy smoothness and cleanliness while at the same time, when at a very low action, does not buzz but yet can yeild a beautiful contemporary slap tone.

Let me put it this way, the strings I had experimented with before half-rounds were DR low beams (steel roundwounds, medium gauge). They are very nice strings, with great bite, but considering the fact that I can lower my half-rounds much lower than I could lower my DRs without buzz, I could get a similar, but also more controlled bite out of them. And they are supposed to be the hybrid of flats and rounds.

Also, a low action helps with tapping.

That's my bias/2cents.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    People can tell you their opinions about strings all day long, but the fact is that the strings I like you may hate, and the strings I hate you may like. You just have to try different sets and once you find one you like, stick with it.
  4. so what strings do you use ? could you give me a link where i can buy them... ?
  5. While you should also look at other strings too, I'll oblige you.

You can go to D'Addario and look under bass, then strings, then half-rounds. From there you can look for dealers in your area that carry them, or more likely, will be willing to order some for you.
  6. are there other strings that you could recommend me ?
  7. I dont mean to jack this thread but...

Who makes a Six string set with these Guages...

8. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile