1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Strings for D G C F Bb on Squier Contemporary Active JB

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by steve urick, Dec 13, 2018.

1. steve urick

steve urick

Dec 13, 2018
    Hello. I am new to bass, and having fun. I recently picked up a Squier Contemporary Active Jazz Bass and want to try tuning it to D, G, C, F, Bb. I live in Japan. I am wondering, is my best bet to find a 6 string set with a medium gauge and toss the B string? In this case I would relocate each string to a position below where it is intended for. I figure if the gauge is medium or high (which I can't find) this should work. Will the relocated E string fit okay in the nut even if it is only 105? Can't seem to find any 6 string sets with anything thicker than 105 for the bass string. And I haven't found a good way to buy single strings here yet...

2. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    Before you buy anything, tune your E string down to D. Is it too floppy or is it acceptable? That will start to tell you what gauge you want for the new tuning.

Always use measurements with strings, not "medium" or "high". Those words mean different things to different manufacturers and will only cause confusion down the road. Also, it's 0.105, not 105. Decimal inches.

Smaller strings will always fit in larger slots. Just make sure you have the string wound down to the bottom of the tuner post so that there's good downward pressure on it. That will hold it securely in the slot so it won't move around.

steve urick likes this.
  3. Here's one option:

D'Addario EXL160BT set (XL Nickel Rounds, 50-67-90-120) is designed to have roughly the same tension when tuned to D-G-C-F as the EXL170BT (45-60-80-107) tuned to E-A-D-G at approx. 40-42 lbs. per string. All you need is to add a single 32/35 for the high Bb.

steve urick likes this.
  4. steve urick

steve urick

Dec 13, 2018