1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Strings for drop C

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Doggy79, Mar 2, 2017.

1. Doggy79

Doggy79

Feb 23, 2017
    Finland
    There are some threads about this already, but all seemed obsolete. I'm about to do my first ever string change on a Schecter Stiletto Custom and dear I say it, we play in drop C tuning. I guess the originals are EB extra long slinkies 045-105. I am not willing to go much thicker because I kinda like the feel I have at the moment. Even the sound was ok. The C is not perfect, but still doable so maybe 110 or 115 maximum. I don't like really thick cables and the sound is not consistent with such a setup on the basses I've tried. I've heard a great deal about Markley Blue Steels especially for rock and metal, but again I'm new to bass so maybe someone knows better with maybe a similar axe or tuning.

2. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    What exactly do you want to be different about a new set of strings compared to the ones you're using now?
    Besides a slightly heavier C?
    It sounds like you are satisfied with the feel and sound of your current ones.

3. Doggy79

Doggy79

Feb 23, 2017
    Finland
    Mostly the C could be a bit stiffer. I am also a bot curious about the difference different strings have in the tension and durability department. A local music dealer said that I can go with 110 without having to adjust the sadle. Maybe even 115? There has neen some comments about 115 beeing a good compromise.

4. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    Any time you change to a different thickness of string you have to make small intonation adjustments so you'll be in tune up the neck.
    It takes 2 minutes with a screwdriver and a good tuner to set one string. Don't be intimidated.

Sounds like your best bet would be to put together a custom set from single strings with a .115 C.