Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Strings for learning how to slap???

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Sammy Camden, Jul 16, 2005.

1. :cool: OK! I could use a little help, advice here.

First, I'm an "old school" bass player. I've been playing electric bass since 1962. I've been using flatwounds for longer than I care to remember, and use them exclusively, except for my fretless, which has Fender filiament groundwounds on it.

Now, here's the situation. I wish, after all of these years to learn how to play slap bass style. Why?? Why NOT!! However, I've been told, and I've read it here and other places, that one cannot play "slap bass" style with flatwounds. Especially the high tension jobs that I like to use.

So, what would you experienced, those experienced at teaching bass and those experienced at performing in this style, bassists recommend that I string one of my basses with to learn this method? Realizing that I literally hate, detest, and despise roundwound strings.

And, after I've learned how to do this style of playing well enough to actually use it sometimes when I'm playing in public, is it possible to transfer the learned skill to flatwounds or are they simply out of the question?

Any and all help here would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

2. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound