Strings for Rockabilly?

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by Bass, Feb 23, 2007.

1. Bass

Bass

Nov 10, 2003
    Canada
    What are the best strings for Rockabilly / Psychobilly?

Do people here prefer steel strings, nylon strings, or gut strings?

I'm using Innovation Rockabilly's, but haven't tried anything else yet.

2. I've been playing for about four years and went from spiro's to helicore pizz mediums, back to weich's, then to obligato's. Just put on Silver Slaps! These are sweet! When and if they settle in just a tad they will be butter! Only thing better would be gut:hyper: Next up, fb, nut, & bridge.

3. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    I made my first visit to rockabillybass.com yesterday... sorry I waited so long, it's a great site! They do a lot of string talk over there in the forums, and as you might expect, there's quite a bit of discussion of gut strings. That's why I went there in the first place, but I found a pretty cool bunch of characters posting over there as a bonus.

4. pbassfreak

pbassfreak

May 2, 2001
    long beach
    Cmon over and join in Marcus..Im tried of being the only Hawaiian over there..hahaha

5. pbassfreak

pbassfreak

May 2, 2001
    long beach
    Back to the topic at hand..If your playing rockabilly there is no sub for guts..Weedwackers are a nice alternative to see if you like the gut sound without putting out all the money for guts..Most pyscos I know play steel..But Marcus is right cruz over to rabb and search the string section..You'll find alot of anseres..

6. bloodyjack

bloodyjack

Oct 10, 2006
    Seattle
    Guts

7. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    I'll try to pop in from time to time, brah.... but right now, get plenny mango leaves in da back yahd fo' peek up. :cool:

8. ColonelZulu

ColonelZulu Not Impressed By Those Who Flaunt “Authority” Supporting Member

Apr 14, 2001
    Pennsylvania
    I get a better slap tone with guts than I do with steels.