1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Strings for weak hands...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Ultraviolet, Sep 15, 2008.

1. Ultraviolet

Ultraviolet

Jun 5, 2007
    All

my hand strength leaves something to be desired, what strings / weight would you recommend... I want a Stax style sound but need to minimise buzz.

your suggestions?

Neil

2. Well I actually don't know any strings since I'm no string expert, but I really don't think you have to have that much strength.

When I started playing my fingers were really weak (I could hardly press down the e string with my pinky), but I just continued to play even though it didn't sound, eventually with patience you will get there. Mind you I still have pretty weak fingers.
    I think it's more about technique than strength, just practice scales and don't stop even though the frets buzz. Just keep on repeating and eventually it will start sounding better, at least that's what I did when I was revising my left hand technique.

3. ghiadub

ghiadub Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2006
    Auburn, CA
    Get a low tension set of strings. I use Thomasik Infield jazz flats, they are one of the lowest tension sets. Not cheap, but they last for years and sound better as they age. I have had my set on for 3 years and they amaze me every time with great tone.

4. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    DR strings are also low tension. You can get them in many styles: nickel, stainless, chrome, flatwound, etc. The ones with round cores (as opposed to hex cores) seem to have the lowest tension.

5. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

May 20, 2008
    40-95 DR highbeams.

6. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA