1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Strings hitting pickups in upper frets

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by robomatic, Jan 10, 2012.

1. robomatic

robomatic

Jan 7, 2012
    Hey everyone,

I'm a bass noob and I picked up a Peavey T-40 of ebay. I attempted a set-up myself, doing the best I could but when I play in the upper frets, the strings hit the rhythm pickup, on the edge closest to the fretboard. This usually happens around the 14th fret and up on the G string.

It can't be the pick-up height because I've lowered the front pickup so far that if I do it anymore, the screw will back out. I don't think it's the bridge height; if I raise that up the action becomes too high. I've got a slight bow in the neck, as was suggested and my intonation is good.

Perhaps there's something wrong with the neck, or maybe the nut is cut too deep for the string? I can try and take some pictures if that helps you. Thanks!

2. UnfortunAtely there's a learning curve to setting basses up - put everything back to neutral and start over .... Onthe t40 there are several geometry points to optimize

3. Guessing your microtilt and bridge levels are off

4. JLS

JLS

Sep 12, 2008
    Emeryville, Ca
    I setup & repair guitars & basses
    The nut has nothing to do with this.

I agree w/MN, neck angle & bridge height.

5. Could be .... Without seeing it tough to mail order answer

Unfortunately t40 commonly will become filed at the nut - normally the wrong way to get low action

6. Maybe, but if the action is OK, that has to be it. You must find a way to lower the pickup further. Its really that simple, there's no magic to this.

7. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009