1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Struggles being a girl bassist

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Jemaira, Jan 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jemaira

Jemaira

Jan 12, 2020
    Pennsylvania
    Let’s face it if your a girl bassist it’s automatically perceived that your faking it! This is sexist and just a blow to your ego. So what’s your story!

myopia, shadven, Krakmann and 25 others like this.
  2. Jemaira

Jemaira

Jan 12, 2020
    Pennsylvania
    I generally think of myself as pretty good for being self taught. But I started marching band this year and realized people judged me on if I had boobs and not if I could play my bass. I can’t even count how many times people asked me if I was hiding a flute in my guitar case of asked me if I was faking it

3. FunkHead

FunkHead Supporting Member

Mar 10, 2007
    I have always dreamed(and still do) of a world where people are judged fairly.

Almost everyone has to fight some prejudice/stereotype:

Here's a few:
    Too short
    Too tall
    Too white
    Too black
    Too fat
    Too skinny
    Too Female
    Big Boobs
    Small boobs
    Too bald
    Too Hairy
    Too religious

Etc., Etc., Etc.

I wish you a fair shake in your musical journey. Lord knows I have had to fight for every minute I have gotten to play on stage.

Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  4. Hover-Rich

Hover-Rich Commercial User

Jan 21, 2018
    Craig, Colorado
    Hover Harness, LLC
    Welcome to TalkBass, Jemaira.